World University Championships

The World University Championships is run by the International University Sports Federation (FISU). Since 1996, when squash was first added to the championships, FISU has gathered the best student athletes from around the world to compete at this international tournament every two years. Karim Darwish, Thierry Lincou and Raneem El Weleily have all achieved gold medals in this tournament and went on to become world number ones. Canada has earned medals in this championship before, including a gold medal won by Marnie Baizley in 2000 in the women’s singles event. 
This event also showcases the diversity within our sport, as it attracts many players from different countries. In 2016, a record 19 countries participated in the championships. A prestigious international tournament for student-athletes, the University World Championships is a great opportunity for young players to compete and develop.






David Mill, 22nd, 3-3 record
Madison Eggert, 26th, 3-3 record
Ravi Seth, 34th, 2-3 record
Chloe Chemtob, 11th, 3-2 record
Hannah Blatt, 12th, 2-3 record
In the team event, Canada finished 2nd in Pool play, losing to Malaysia 3-0, and winning 2-1 versus Switzerland.  In their 5/8 match, they fell to Czech Republic 2-1.  Canada lost to Australia in their final match, 2-1, to finish in 8th of 13 teams.  All team results can be seen here